Plan B: Run fast

Shimmer and I stepped out into a cold, cloud-filled day. He marched me straight down the street to the dead possum lying in the curb. Much like sharks have the ability to sense blood from a mile away, Shimmer can locate disgusting things. I assume this is a dog thing, and not one of Shimmer’s thing. Anyhow, that’s how I found out our neighborhood has possum. Later, the mailman warned us there was a coyote wandering around on the next block.

Living with so many wild animals in the neighborhood adds an element of danger you wouldn’t expect on a walk with a greyhound. The coyotes have, indeed, become more bold. (I wonder if new cubs have been born.) The raccoons at night travel around in gangs and are rumored to carry knives. And, alas, there are skunks. Shimmer once had a run in with one, and now, whenever we smell skunk, he wants to find it and go for another round. He can’t be blamed; he was raised to win.

I have often wondered how Shimmer would react if we were attacked by a wild animal. Would he leap to my defense and throw himself in the way of the snarling coyote, or jump to attack it? I imagined him staring down the approaching raccoons until they scattered, and growling the skunk into submission. And, then I realize most likely they’d all be frightened by my high-pitched little girl screams and it would be a moot point. Still, it’s nice to have Shimmer along for our walks.

coyote2

AWikipedia: A is the first letter and vowel in the ISO basic Latin alphabet.

About Kelly

I'm a dog walker, he's a greyhound, we meet a lot of nice people.
This entry was posted in Greyhoundness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plan B: Run fast

  1. Connie K. says:

    Very funny. As a matter of fact, I have heard that high pitched scream come from you. It would, indeed, scare anything in the vicinity.

  2. Joan says:

    Shimmer would first rolls his eyes and be embarrassed for you- then he would leap to the rescue, growl fiercely and save your sorry ass. He’ll be expecting a treat as a reward when he’s done.

  3. Julie Roberts says:

    I’m so glad you and Shimmer are “back”! My husband and I used to wonder the same thing about our retired greyhound; would she come to our defense if needed? She was such a sweet girl and was more about loving than fighting, but then she was never really put to the test — thank goodness…

    • Kelly says:

      It’s nice to know there are lucky greyhound owners like you to come back to! I hope you have as many wonderful memories of your girl as I do of Shimmer.

Leave a comment