Our first resolution of 2013 will be easy to keep

While returning home, Shimmer and I ran into the Hippy Lady who works for Parks and Recs. To be honest, we don’t know if she’s an actual hippy or not. She doesn’t wear make-up, hasn’t cut her hair in many years, and tends to wear tie-dye.  We also aren’t sure if she really works for Parks and Recs, or just likes to hang out with the rest of the staff.  Shimmer and I are both fairly confident she is a lady, though.

Anyway, instead of going up and saying “Hello!” like he usually does, Shimmer ignored her as we walked by. She and I were both a little surprised. “What’s up him?” she asked.

I joked it was because he knew she wasn’t carrying any dog treats.

“I used to carry treats,” she said sadly, “and then I ran into too many ‘My dog only eats organic treats’ and ‘My dog only eats food I make’, so I stopped. But the worst people are at Moss park. You know where Moss Park is?”

“Yes,” I lied, knowing she was going to say something good, and not wanting her to lose her train of thought.

“Well, there’s a guy there with two beautiful collies. And every day, he boils up a chicken for the dogs…and only serves them the broth!”

“Not the chicken?” I asked.

“Just…the…broth,” she said slowly, as if telling us the ending of a horror story.

Whether it was her story of the dogs who lived only on soup water, or just a general urge to get away from the possibly crazy hippy lady, Shimmer yawned nervously and I said we had to be on our way. As we walked home, we both agreed to avoid the hideous dog-treat nightmare called Moss Park, wherever it may be.

 

About Kelly

I'm a dog walker, he's a greyhound, we meet a lot of nice people.
This entry was posted in People we meet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our first resolution of 2013 will be easy to keep

  1. nevadasgirl says:

    Oh how I wish I had some of Shimmers traits. What’s up with chicken broth.? Muwhaha ha, evil horror laugh

  2. Connie K. says:

    You and Shimmer have some interesting friends.
    .

Leave a Reply

