He must look like he’s got money

Shimmer saw her before I did. She was standing in an open garage, directing a group of workmen as they hauled things in and out of the house. Tail wagging furiously, he led me to her. He likes The Ladies.

She introduced herself as Bunny Mellon. When I heard her name, my inner voice squealed like a little girl. This had to be one of the greatest names I’ve ever heard, along the lines of Tempest Storm and Slim Pickens. I wasn’t sure if she was a realtor, owner, or what. It turns out she’s a wealthy heiress!

Shimmer was greeting the workers while Bunny started to sell me on the house and its charms. We had seen all the work being done to it during our earlier walks, so this was all a recap of  events. She asked me if I was looking for a new home and I said yes but one with a yard. She looked at Shimmer and brightly told me there was a yard in the back.

“Yeah, in a million dollar neighborhood,” I laughed, and said good-bye. Shimmer was ready to go, too, having  noticed a half-eaten sandwich in the painter’s open van.

About Kelly

I'm a dog walker, he's a greyhound, we meet a lot of nice people.
This entry was posted in Greyhoundness, People we meet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

