A lesson for us all

Today, Shimmer and I were out when he threw himself down in the shade of a tree. I’m used to this when he’s hot or tired, but the weather was mild and we had just started our walk. I stood there awhile waiting for him to get up but he ignored me and looked off into the park. There wasn’t much to see: a couple of kids trying to play baseball, neither could hit or pitch, so the game basically involved running after the ball, a family having a picnic while their son ran off his sugar drink, and a man was walking across the park with a Weimaraner. What was Shimmer looking at?

What if he wasn’t really tired? What if he just was enjoying this spot and this moment and the beauty of the park. The soft sounds of summer, the gentle wind, the warm sun–all were intoxicating and I appreciated Shimmer pulling me out of my day so I could reflect on the moment that was before me. I looked over to thank him, only to find him licking his hind quarters.

And, this is why I suggest dogs may not be the best spiritual guides.

 

About Kelly

I'm a dog walker, he's a greyhound, we meet a lot of nice people.
This entry was posted in Greyhoundness, Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A lesson for us all

  1. nevadasgirl says:

    I just got back from a trip, reading a few books on spirituality. I was so excited to read your post wondering what the synchonocity was. I got it about reflecting, but was confused when it got to the part about Shimmer licking his hind quarters. After nine days of camping, I figured it must be…it was time for a shower.

  2. Joan says:

    Shimmer can always punctuate a special moment!

  3. Connie K. says:

    Shimmer is certainly teaching you the “basics” of life.

Leave a Reply

